Ah I have to see it !

Every day brings a new beginning. I presume no one can deny it. I used to be a pampered kid. I had the late classes, so there used to be no tension of waking up early. Listening to music was my hobby. All the way to university my earphones used to be in my ears. Moody attitude care free and so damn casual; though I am still the same old champ old champ but still with the passage of time there came the shift of change

As the semester passed instead of coming by my own car; just for a change I started going to university by university bus. Actually the dilemma was that my classes were scheduled in the morning. Now I had to wake up early in the morning. Ah damn it, such a difficult task it is. Anyhow, every morning I used to wait for my bus in my car. One day there arouse the feeling of curiosity that how does it feel like to stand at the stop and wait for your bus like others?

Mom used to tell me that it’s a hard job and you are not mature enough and I always said that, “oh come on mom it’s not such a bad thing though. Please for heaven sake let me stand, just for a day.”  May be she said that I was pampered and was totally not that kind who can bear a sun ray for a sec. But finally she agreed.

That day I observed a lot. Obviously one of the main things to observe the environment around was that my earphones were not in my ears. Ha-ha that gave me the time to observe everything around me.

I saw the old man begging silently in the corner of the stop. I saw the children going to school. I saw the maids sweeping the roads, People buying edibles for their kids. The sun was rising high. Wind was blowing smoothly, what a blissful thing early morning breeze was I realized that day.

Suddenly when I turned around, what I saw made me think. I saw the row of man standing and waiting for labor, waiting that may be their luck will work and they’ll go home with fruits in one hand and their tools in other. I was watching them at that moment my friend said hey here comes our bus.

When passing by those workers I saw the weird kind of expressions in their eyes. The blank faces still haunt me. I wonder what will be the story behind every face. I want to know and want to know desperately. Charles Bukowski, in Ham on Rye said that

“What a weary time those years were — to have the desire and the need to live but not the ability.”

But I saw was that those poor souls they have got ability to make their life something out of nothing still the end result is nothingness.

Since that day I’m going to university by bus. What I see people come and go. Beggar begs or not. But yes I’m no more pampered kid.

What I concluded so far is that the lust for power and money is increasing so much that we don’t care about our fellow beings. The economical instability has caused the poverty and that is creating so many inequalities. A lot of questions rose in my mind and is still prevailing like they are the one who are born free no? Don’t they have right to share the same level of happiness we do? If they were born in the poor family so don’t they deserve the chance to get education?

I would like Nelson Mandela here, he said that:

“Overcoming poverty is not a task of charity, it is an act of justice. Like Slavery and Apartheid, poverty is not natural. It is man-made and it can be overcome and eradicated by the actions of human beings. Sometimes it falls on a generation to be great. YOU can be that great generation. Let your greatness blossom.”

Time matured my thinking and broadened my vision. But yes till my questions are answered I’ve to see them standing and waiting for labor. I wonder may be when I’ll be able to get all the answers may be I’ll be able to help them out to improve their living standard may be. But till then ah I’ve to see it.

Leave a Reply

